Equitable Excellence Scholarships Announced

Sarina Krishnan ’20 has earned an Equitable Excellence Scholarship, which includes not only funds for her college education, but also for Bishop’s faculty professional growth.

Academic excellence and commitment to service are qualities that Sarina has demonstrated over the course of her time at Bishop’s, and what the scholarship presented by the Equitable financial services company seeks to honor. She says, “I was thrilled to learn that the School also receives a grant to be used for professional development activities. I am very fortunate to have received this award and also hope the grant is beneficial to the School!”

According to Equitable’s website, the company annually awards upwards of $2 million to hundreds of high school seniors from all 50 states and Puerto Rico for their “work to make a positive and lasting impact in their communities and beyond. To recognize the important role their dedicated educators play in guiding these students along their path to success, we also award a $1,000 grant to every Equitable Excellence winner’s high school.”

Equitable says that these scholarship winners “demonstrate the ability to set and reach goals, as shown by outstanding achievement in school, community or work-related activities, especially those that less risk to health, safety, the environment or financial security.”

Sarina established a non-profit called Pathways to Assimilation designed to help refugees acclimate to a new life in the U.S. through tutoring in English, connecting students to summer opportunities and training, and more, her organization works to assist these new community members in becoming self-sufficient. She has also worked on a podcast project “to encourage and inspire youth to enrich their lives via community service.”

Congratulations, Sarina!
THE BISHOP’S SCHOOL     7607 La Jolla Boulevard     La Jolla, CA 92037     (858) 459-4021
The Bishop’s School is an independent, coeducational college-preparatory day school for students in grades six through twelve who live throughout San Diego County. Founded in 1909, the School is affiliated with the Episcopal church.