Spanish Honor Society Induction Features Alumna Guest Speaker

The World Language Department celebrated the Spanish Honor Society Induction on April 15, 2019. Forty-two students were inducted into the Bishop’s School chapter Gabriel García Márquez, established in 1992 by Silvia Staulo, a former Bishop’s Spanish teacher. The guest speaker was Jean Guerrero ’06.
The Spanish Honor Society is a national organization formally organized in 1953 and sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP). The SHH has grown to more than 2,000 national and international chapters and is committed to recognizing high school student achievement in Spanish and Portuguese as well as promoting interest in Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian studies.
This year the evening began with an authentic Cuban dinner catered by Andrés Restaurant. The inductees, their parents and Spanish faculty members enjoyed traditional Cuban dishes including empanadas, ropa vieja, and tostones. Guitarist Jude Weirmeir, Ph.D. created Caribbean ambience playing a selection of popular boleros. After dinner, we welcomed Bishop’s alumna Jean Guerrero ’06, now an investigative reporter for KPBS who shared her personal story of living on both sides of the border. Afterward, students were formally inducted into the society after lighting a candle and reciting the membership oath. The following students are the new members of the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica:
New Inductees:
Ashwin Baluja ’21
Dhruv Banerjee ’21
Meghan Behr ’20
Olivia Bolitho ’21
Brooke Buchner ’20
Tyler Buchner ’21
Alania Camuro ’20
Nicholas Chen ’21
Samuel De La Cruz ’20
Maya Ebel ’21
Kasey Harvey ’20
Whitney Hejmanowski ’21
Kellen Hobson ’20
Ryan Hollingshead ’21
Piper Holthus ’21
Emily Johnson ’20
Esha Kashyap ’19
Claiborne Kates ’21
Dax Kay ’21
Sean Kim ’21
Alexander Kuncz ’21
Gavin Lee ’21
Alex Mayorga ’20
Kelly McFarlane ’21
Neal Mehta ’21
Eric Pan ’21
Isabella Ratto ’21
Isabel Reynoso ’21
Helena Roseman ’21
Sophia Sanders ’21
Katherine Savchuk ’21
Gabriela Scott ’21
Sophia Scott ’21
Jasmine Shokri ’20
Warren Spieker ’21
Jessie Stafford ’21
Sofia Stein ’21
Rachel Waite ’19
Jeffrey Wang ’21
Austin Yang ’21
Vanessa Yang ’21
Elaine Yoon ’20
THE BISHOP’S SCHOOL     7607 La Jolla Boulevard     La Jolla, CA 92037     (858) 459-4021
The Bishop’s School is an independent, coeducational college-preparatory day school for students in grades six through twelve who live throughout San Diego County. Founded in 1909, the School is affiliated with the Episcopal church.