Alumni Association Board

The Alumni Association Board (AAB) is the governing body of the Alumni Association. AAB is a group of 25 alumni who meet four times per year on campus to discuss alumni initiatives and events. They come from all over the country and represent all the eras of Bishop’s and San Miguel.

Current Alumni Association and AAB Activities:
  • Event planning for the Ellen Browning Scripps Celebration, Reunion Weekend, regional events and (young alumni) events 
  • Recognizing outstanding alumni, faculty and staff through the Alumni Awards Program
  • Identifying opportunities for alumni to network and grow professionally 
  • Student mentoring and outreach through alumni-student events and activities (Recently career workshops and college panels) 
  • Fostering relationships with regional alumni 
  • Advancement Committee support of school campaigns and Alumni Fund efforts 
  • Welcoming seniors into the alumni family on Senior Salute Day

2018-2019 Board Members

President - Don Carlson ’80
Vice President - Sandra Miller Gilbert ’72 
Treasurer - Mike Hoagland ’03
Secretary - Jane Gilbert Pineda ’77

Sandy Gade Algra '95
Marshall Anderson '08
Nicole Benedict ’82
Ed Benito ’95
Frank Drummond ’96
Leigh Fritz ’03
Julie Gantz ’09
Laurel Hanson '87
Kim Middleton Kelly '84
Pam Frazer Kelly ’61
Melissa Alioto Murfey '97
Chelsea Smith-Carmichael Peterson ’07
Roswell Pund ’81
Roberto Rosas ’10
Austin Rutherford ’08
Gretchen Trekell Sargeant '77
Andrew Schwarz ’95
Natalie Royston Scoma ’99
Julie Jones Smitherman ’82
Julie Zures Turner ’95
Susan Fleet Welsch ’63 
Trace Wilson '88
Koree Blyleven Wooley ’05

Alumni Association Board

The Alumni Association Board (AAB) is the governing body of the Alumni Association. AAB is a group of 24 alumni who meet four times per year on campus to discuss alumni initiatives and events. They come from all over the country and represent all the eras of Bishop's and San Miguel. To connect with an Alumni Association Board member, email the Office of Alumni Relations or call (858) 875-0505.
THE BISHOP’S SCHOOL     7607 La Jolla Boulevard     La Jolla, CA 92037     (858) 459-4021
The Bishop’s School is an independent, coeducational college-preparatory day school for students in grades six through twelve who live throughout San Diego County. Founded in 1909, the School is affiliated with the Episcopal church.