Skip To Main Content

Board of Trustees

flags at half mast in front of gym

The Bishop’s Board of Trustees holds the School “in trust” for future generations and is the highest-level decision-making authority. The board uses the School’s mission statement and strategic goals as guideposts for board decisions. Board business is conducted in accordance with approved bylaws, last revised in April 2018.

The board delegates responsibility for managing day-to-day operations to the head of school and does not intervene in the daily affairs of the School, such as curriculum development, admissions or personnel. Instead, the board focuses on three areas critical to the success of any independent school: 

  1. adopting a clear statement of Bishop’s mission and vision with particular focus on long-range and strategic issues;
  2. selecting, evaluating and supporting the head of school who is charged with the management of the School; and
  3. being accountable for the financial, legal and reputational well-being of the School.

The volunteer board is comprised of current parents, alumni, parents of alumni and community members. The head of school is an ex-officio member of the board. A significant portion of the board’s work is done through its eight committees that focus on fiduciary, strategic and advancement initiatives for the long-term health of the School.

In the conduct of its official business, the board acts only as a whole; individual trustees, including the board president, have no authority to act unless specifically authorized to do so by the board acting as a whole.

Trustees are asked to serve up to two three-year terms and serve on two committees. The Governance Committee continually identifies and evaluates trustee candidates from the parent, alumni and wider communities to ensure diversity of experience, perspective and skills. Members of the Governance Committee meet with candidates and speak with those who know them to determine their strengths, experience serving on previous boards, alignment with the mission and interest in sharing their time, talent and treasure. The committee makes recommendations of highly-qualified candidates to the board, which elects trustees each April for the following school year. 

From time to time, ad hoc committees or task forces may be formed to address specific issues or projects (for example, strategic planning).



Chairman of the Board

The Rt. Rev Susan Brown Snook, Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of San Diego


Haeyoung Tang


Doug Arthur


Juli Oh Browne


Cheryl Anderson
Mac Armstrong '93 
Doug Arthur '99
Peter Arrowsmith
Jenn Beamer
Juli Oh Browne
Regina Buckley
Don Carlson '80
Kelly Capen Douglas
Ric Erdman
Kristopher Lichter '89
Annie Wolterstorff Love '65
Melissa Alioto Murfey '97
Sharon Peng
Lake Price
Sonia Ramamoorthy
Corinne Perkins Ross ‘97
Mike Ryan
Teresa Sekiguchi
Tyler Seltzer
The Rt. Rev. Susan Brown Snook
Haeyoung Tang
Christy Pharr Wilson '67
Andrew Wooden
Clara Wu 
Keith Wyer '95
Gaylene Xanthopoulos

Honorary Lifetime Trustees

David Bagley
Brad Geier
Jan Ann Kahler
Betsy Manchester
Anne McCarthy
Gretchen Stroschein Thomson '59
Susan Fleet Welsch '63